i Prize Cryptic Crossword 1612 by Phi

April 16, 2016

Saturday 9th April  2016

As it happened, I got 17a Ron Weasley from a gimme anagram at the outset, then noticing another couple of ‘graduates’ (this was a bit more topical in 2011), was able to write them in from the enumeration alone. Slightly ironic, then that my last one in was 23d Snape.

My COD is 16d: Convict, released after little hesitation, heading for local boozer (5,4)

Otherwise not too much to say about another professional job from Mr Phi.

Original blog from 2011 is here.

2 Responses to “i Prize Cryptic Crossword 1612 by Phi”

  1. AndyT said

    I had one of those “surely not” moments with 9ac on the first read through, after which it was pretty obvious who else were likely to be hiding. Would you believe that I didn’t make the connection with Snape until reading the above though? – just thought it was a slightly wilful clue. As well as Ms Granger, I also have a particularly emphatic tick next to 26ac.

  2. jonofwales said

    Ah yes, the Harry Potter one. I’ve not read the books, or seen any of the films, so I was probably at a bit of a disadvantage here. Thankfully though this was Phi in a fairly gentle mood, and I finished in about average time. More time to get stuck into the IQ again, sucker for punishment that I am. 😉

Comments are closed.

