i Cryptic Crossword 1617 Monk

April 15, 2016

A fairly challenging puzzle with a bit of  a science theme. The H C C H across the centre representing 27a. apparently. I found it all generally good the real, to me, obscurities of 1d. and 20d. solvable by dint of the anagrams. Thought 8d a bit strange, an odd word and being told to remove the n from boffin and then replace it with the n from no  oh well.  14a. and the dreaded French hmm. 24a. made me shudder. Nothing wrong with the clue but the thought of trying to hang the damn stuff has that effect on me. Nothing really stood out as exceptional but my favourite was.

COD  4d.     Untouchable shock feedback by electronic system. (6)

The Fifteensquared blog from August 2011 is here

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2011/08/16/independent-7748monk/

 

4 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1617 Monk”

  1. jonofwales said

    A slow but steady solve, time a little over par for the i. I wouldn’t have spotted the nina in a million years – the molecule referenced across the bottom of the grid is represented in the middle row, and the ones above and below it, and the only H’s and C’s in the grid are in representations of it. Very nicely done, it’s a pity most solvers will probably miss it! It’d be a nice touch if things like this were highlighted in the answers the next day.

    Off topic, the i paper is having a particularly bad day. Page 5 refers not once, but twice to that well known actress Kirsten Stewart (it should be Kristen); the short cryptic refers you to page 57 in a 56 page newspaper for the answers, and Gareth Thomas’ obituary is word for word the same as the one that appeared on the Guardian site yesterday. Do they both use a common, syndicated source?

  2. AndyT said

    Not a setter I look forward to much, but to be fair this was a good one. It was only the process of hacking my way through the thicket in the NW corner which really sapped my will to live – so pretty accessible for Monk. Very clever with the Nina, I’m sure: no doubt the organic chemists among us will have been delighted, but it went sailing over my head at high altitude. Lots of other clever stuff, thank goodness, but it has to be said that my reaction to 17ac was “But I’m looking at the clue, obviously”. 🙂

  3. Cornick said

    I think we have our winner for the ‘Obscure Nina of the Year’ already.
    As for 17a, I was doing this puzzle whilst pretending to be writing in my diary during a meeting (go on, we’ve all done it) so, what with page 21 being folded up so small, I wasn’t looking at the gridiron at all!

    • Cornick said

      And you’re right Sprouthater, to take the N in 8d off and then put it back on again would definitely be frowned upon by some editors.

Comments are closed.

