i Cryptic Crossword 1614 Radian

April 12, 2016

A bit tricky in places, I thought, though nothing that wasn’t solvable with a bit of patience. 5d was almost a write in, and helped with one or two others I wasn’t sure about. We have a pangram, though as I got 19d and 22d fairly quickly it didn’t help. I thought for a while that there might have been a theme around 5d, or Christian names in general, but it doesn’t appear that there is.

COD? 6d – ‘Result of cold snap (8)’.

September 2011 again today:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2011/09/06/independent-7766-by-radian/

8 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1614 Radian”

  1. AndyT said

    Tantalising glimpses of a theme, but it never really materialised. Never mind: plenty to enjoy today, and no complaints.

  2. sprouthater said

    Was pleased to solve 17a from the word play though it seemed a bit odd using a long forgotten 60’s pop duo in a crossword. 4d was my last, got the Trebor part but I’d never heard of the dictionary, all good stuff though.

  3. dtw42 said

    17a had to be from the wordplay for me, since the def was unfamiliar. And i failed to parse 11a and filled it in on the basis of the def and the checking letters. On the other hand I WAS very vaguely familiar with existence of the 4d dictionary. Like the rest of you, I half expected the proper-name answers to resolve into some sort of theme. Took me a while, but got there in the end without being dissatisfied with anything.

  4. AndyT said

    Erm … I took 17ac to be referring to the Old Testament. Book of Samuel, according to Wikipedia.

  5. Guy said

    I loved 15d “Belief inspiring Catholic perceived banks to be beyond reproach (6,3)”. I only saw “banks” as a verb after I’d got the solution. Plus the first word of the solution makes you think that “Belief inspiring Catholic” is the definition. Lovely clue.

  6. sprouthater said

    My pop music knowledge is greater than my biblical knowledge:-)

Comments are closed.

