i Cryptic Crossword 1608 Crosophile

April 5, 2016

I must admit to only being vaguely aware of 12ac, and the 24ac books, but that didn’t matter, because this was a fairly breezy solve. I only got a little stuck at the end on 6ac, luckily, as I was a little rushed today. An appearance on Radio 5 Live, believe it or not… Speaking of which, thankfully, sanity is restored and you have a Fifteensquared blog to refer to, rather than my own rather inferior efforts. 🙂

COD? 20ac – ‘Maybe Durrell’s first to be advanced, becoming town crier (6)’.

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2011/07/16/independent-7716-by-crosophile-saturday-prize-puzzle-9-july-2011/

8 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1608 Crosophile”

  1. Cornick said

    Ooh, and which show were you on? Do tell, do!

    • jonofwales said

      Just come off air. 😉 It was The Afternoon Edition, discussing tests in primary schools. I think I managed not to embarrass myself… 🙂

      • Cornick said

        Very well said – I’m sure you are, as the host said, doing everything right. 🙂
        My niece used to say school exams were easy because they teach you the answers first and then they ask you what they’ve just taught you!
        I tell my boys that they’re enjoyable things to do because a) the questions are probably going to be more interesting than the ones your teacher comes up with and b) the naughty kids aren’t distracting you for once!

      • jonofwales said

        Thanks! I haven’t listened myself yet, but it seemed to go OK. That’ll teach me though to comment on the BBC News site and expect to get away with it. 🙂

  2. AndyT said

    Perhaps I shall seek that out, then. 🙂

    Very much enjoyed this one, partly because I know the works of 12ac inside out. My last one in was 6ac, which was rather splendid, and 19d is eyecatching. Maybe it’s a coincidence, but there is a minor character called Perch-1d in 24ac; what certainly isn’t coincidental is that 12ac’s widow was 11ac, and she wrote a sequel entitled 26d 14ac. Excellent work all told on Crosophile’s part.

Comments are closed.

