i Cryptic Crossword 1603 Dac

March 30, 2016

“Never mind, Citronella: let’s try another one. Now this one is two words, and what you’re looking for is a two letter word meaning a shot, or an attempt if you will, and a bird three letters long. Put ’em together and hey presto: got it!
“No”.
“Oh dear”.

Last week I mentioned that in an attempt to buck up my wan and disconsolate sister, I’d encourage her to have a go at writing what she calls the “wordsearch blog”. Well, maybe not just yet, but nil desperandum, eh? Once again, therefore, I’m struggling somewhat to come up with something interesting to say about yet another impeccably turned out puzzle by the ever-reliable Dac. This one seemed very straightforward to me, and was finished in a trice. Amongst the many gentle lobs today there were a few nicely deceptive deliveries like 26ac and 20d, and a couple of well phrased long ones to disentangle at 5d and 18ac. Clue of the day for me was 23ac:

“Military order registered, in a sense (4,5)”

I’m a little surprised to find that some of the Fifteensquared regulars found the ground rather heavy going back in July 2011, but as one of them says, horses for courses.

8 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1603 Dac”

  1. Frederick said

    DAC 1603 aka DAC 7725 in 2011.

    There was no link today to the original but many thanks anyway.

    I do the “i”!

    http://www.fifteensquared.net/2011/07/20/independent-7725dac/

    • AndyT said

      Greetings! The link is buried under the word “Fifteensquared” as is my wont, and opens in a new tab / window. The blue doesn’t show up very well, now you come to mention it … I shall experiment.

    • jonofwales said

      Always on the lookout for volunteers if you fancy doing this sort of thing on a regular basis. Let me know. 🙂

  2. sprouthater said

    I found this an enjoyable if non to difficult solve. Yesterday we had eggs = lice which I can understand but today its rats = lice which I can’t see at all.

    • jonofwales said

      Rats and lice are both pretty unpleasant, I suppose, but that’s about as far as it goes.

      • AndyT said

        By my reckoning someone who is a rat to James Cagney would be a louse to Bertie Wooster, so we’re back to that mainstay of crosswords, early 20th century slang. 🙂

  3. jonofwales said

    A nice straightforward solve, nothing too controversial I thought. Completed while chatting with the builder in the kitchen, so solved with half a mind on the job, and still sailed through. I suspect that won’t be the case the rest of the week…

Comments are closed.

