i Cryptic Crossword 1599 Hypnos

March 25, 2016

The last time we had a puzzle by Hypnos there was some complaints that it was just a Y short of a pangram, well this time, according to the original blog, all 26 letters have been used. So that’s ok then?  Apart from the complete (to me) obscurity of 16d I found this fairly straightforward with only 21d and 11a delaying my progress. 11a due entirely to my complete lack of knowledge regarding any ball game.  I have never come across the abbreviation OC for ocean before and can’t find any reference to it any of my dictionaries.  The use of names such as Vicious and Quant  I find annoying but others seem to find it acceptable so I will just have to put up with it.

COD 18a Bread? It could be found in the bush.  (5)

Back to 2011 here  http://www.fifteensquared.net/2011/08/14/independent-on-sunday-1121-by-hypnos/

4 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1599 Hypnos”

  1. AndyT said

    Welcome back!

    Much the same here, although I’m happy enough with the two names since they’re both so well known. With regard to 16d I confess that there were just the two words which would fit and I happened to pick the right one, confirming the answer later with a shrug and a quiet harrumph. OC didn’t appeal to me, either. Otherwise, thoroughly enjoyable.

    • sprouthater said

      Thanks good to be back. I solved 16d in exactly the same way completely missed the anagram.

  2. jonofwales said

    26ac ironically was the only one to cause me real problems. If only I’d spotted the pangram things would have been so different. 😀

  3. Cornick said

    11a did actually make me laugh out loud; 21d seemed a stretch too far for a definition, but my knowledge of Asian tenancy law is somewhat limited; 16d had to be a tricksy kind of marsupial from the anagram fodder and it did ring a vague bell – but only from another crossword, of course.
    Pangram-schlangram, can’t really see the point unless it’s a double.

Comments are closed.

