i Cryptic Crossword 1598 Crosophile

March 24, 2016

Crosophile’s puzzles in the i to date have been very much on the easy side, if I remember rightly, but today I struggled from start to finish, chucking in many an answer on a wing and a prayer. The NE corner was the last to fall, partly because I was convinced for too long that 7d had to have HEEL in the answer somewhere. ‘envelopes’ in 2d is apparently a mistake, and should be ‘envelop’, though for what it’s worth the clue works perfectly well as it stands for me.

Both 1ac and 21ac made me smile, but for my COD I’ll go with 7d – ‘Knocked Achilles, say, around Troy and as far as this? (8)’.

The end of June 2011 today:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2011/06/29/independent-7707-crosophile/

3 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1598 Crosophile”

  1. sprouthater said

    NE corner was my Achilles heel too. 4d was the last in, couldn’t see that at all until I read the blog. A clever and in parts witty puzzle I thought

  2. AndyT said

    In parts maybe, but on the whole I found this tortuous without being particularly entertaining. When Crosophile first appeared in the i there were some remarks here about his background in setting barred thematics, and how he might do well to tone it down a bit. Indeed on recent form he seemed to have done just that, but this puzzle struck me as a reversion to the clever-clever abstruse for the sake of it style in places. I’m far more receptive to that sort of thing at the weekend.

  3. Cornick said

    Similar here in that it went bottom half first, NE last. Put in 1a without understanding why. Very good. Overall I appreciated some very good, if tricky, clues. My fave Crosophile so far.

Comments are closed.

