i Cryptic Crossword 1595 Glow-Worm

March 21, 2016

Quite a tricky puzzle to start the week, with several unknowns, and some difficult word-play. A bit of a shock after Quixote’s contributions to the IoS. Last in 7 / 13. The latter didn’t really work for me, surely it would be HIS and not HIM for the homophone?

COD? 21d – ‘No negative aspect to holidaying abroad with this gentleman (7)’, which might have held me up longer if I hadn’t read the feature on page 30 of today’s i first. 🙂

June 2011 once more:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2011/06/05/independent-on-sunday-1111-by-glow-worm-2/

5 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1595 Glow-Worm”

  1. AndyT said

    Rather good, by and large, although if anyone cares to explain why 16ac is what it clearly is, I’d be obliged. Wasn’t enamoured of 4d (a cut down acronym leading to an acronym? … seems a bit rum), and 25d didn’t convince me since an en is not a dash but the space occupied by a short one. On the other hand there were plenty of nice clues, and I agree that 21d is something of a corker.

    • jonofwales said

      Isn’t 16ac just alternate letters?

      • AndyT said

        Presumably so, and Fifteensquared agrees, but where’s the definition? Surely not “bent”? I’ve a feeling I’m missing something which is staring me in the face.

  2. Cornick said

    Of a particular bent/ in a particular vein. Works okay for me. Really liked the whole puzzle – very much on my wavelength (which some setters most definitely are not!).
    A Him book could be a whimsical description of a book aimed at the male of the species, I guess.
    4d my FOI, so didn’t have a chance to object to it! Didn’t know all that about an en space/ dash, so didn’t question it.

    • AndyT said

      Really? I tried my damnedest to square those two as synonyms, but it just doesn’t work for me. Never mind!

Comments are closed.

