i Prize Cryptic Crossword 1588 by Klingsor

March 19, 2016

Saturday 12th March  2016

I’m probably a bit biased towards Klingsor because he put my first ever puzzle on his website, ‘Free Crosswords Online!’ but nevertheless I thought this was a brilliant puzzle – full of invention and cleverness.  If you found it challenging, rest assured that this is one setter who is always rigorously fair with his crossword grammar – look hard enough and the clues will yield their secrets.

Just one tiny gripe – I didn’t like Leoncalvallo being clued with Fellow = Leon; this is ‘etymological crossover’, from wordplay to answer, and with a name too – but Klingsor is a classical music buff (as his name implies) so maybe he thought ‘L_ O_CALVALLO’ was more obvious than I did.

Loads of great surfaces and it’s really hard to pick a favourite – 4, 24, 26, 28 across all deserve a mention as do 6, 7, 13, 16 and 25 down, however my favourite by a whisker was probably:

12a Line providing opening for comedian performing across the country? (7)

And the 2011 blog with all the answers here is also of a very high standard.

3 Responses to “i Prize Cryptic Crossword 1588 by Klingsor”

  1. AndyT said

    Yes, I enjoyed this one a lot, too. As it happens the Cav and Pag clue was my favourite, perhaps on account of being particularly chuffed at knowing the answer (without having the slightest interest in opera, light or otherwise) … at any rate I’m more than happy to overlook a spot of entomological jiggery pokery just this once. 😉

  2. jonofwales said

    An unexpected challenge last Saturday, and one that took longer than it perhaps should have. Enjoyable, though! I often find Klingsor a bit of a struggle, the Saturday i is probably a good occasional slot for him, when we’ve got more time to enjoy the clues. 🙂

  3. Rick King said

    Interesting change from phi for my weekend workout, failed to complete which I’m blaming on house rebuild…enjoyed what I did complete.

Comments are closed.

