i Prize Cryptic Crossword 1582 by Phi

March 12, 2016

Saturday 5th March  2016

In the 2011 blog with all the answers which you can find here, several commenters are surprised there’s nothing going on by way of a theme or Nina – which is to miss the point of how Phi approaches his setting, I think. This puzzle did have something going on – there were four intersecting pairs of clues – ‘Three-speed Gear’, ‘Good Neighbours’, ‘Anglepoise Lamp’ and ‘Cape Gooseberry’.  With those in place on an otherwise empty grid, the setter has already got quite enough of a challenge just to fill in the rest of the lights!

I have lots of single ticks but no doubles – which I find is often the case with Phi. So pretty much chosen at random, here’s my COD:

19d Navigational aid follows sailor (3,4)

4 Responses to “i Prize Cryptic Crossword 1582 by Phi”

  1. AndyT said

    No doubt you’re right about Phi’s approach: it always seems that he sets himself a challenge of some sort, and surely he can’t expect many people to pick up on some of the more recondite themes. This was a nop notch bit of grid filling work, but as you say, nothing really leapt out in the way of a COD.

  2. Rickk said

    Took me a while to grind this one out but something told me I had it in me to do it and very satisfying when the final clue dropped in. Distracted for a while trying to fit ripe instead of cape, one that was cleared Cupid was my last solve and probably my C.O.D. Thanks Cornick and Phi.

    • jonofwales said

      I was never convinced cape could be the right answer either. Congrats on the solve, Phi can be tricky at times.

  3. jonofwales said

    Another pretty straightforward offering from Phi, just what I’ve got used to on a Saturday morning when, ahum, a little tired and emotional. This week I see he’s let me down and gone AWOL.

Comments are closed.

