i Cryptic Crossword 1585 Dac

March 9, 2016

The little story next to the crossword today struck a chord with me, since hardly a week goes by without me having to send Onions off to Mr Trubshaw for a replacement malacca. I’d put it down to absent mindedness, but it now appears that there are disciples of Proudhon going around pinching brollies. Bad form, I say. When I mentioned this to Ms Mgurure, she produced her electronic thingummy and drew my attention to an Ebay trader by the name of AlliumUmbrellas who is selling the genuine Trubshaw’s item at very reasonable prices.

I must have been a bit distracted by all that, because the puzzle took longer than usual this morning. Dac doesn’t generally go in for obscurities, but I was brought up sharp by two unfamiliar solutions at 1ac and 8d – both susceptible to deduction from the unimpeachable wordplay, of course. 12ac kept me wondering for quite a while until the penny dropped too, so all in all I’m not feeling particularly clever today. Plenty of elegantly turned goodies to enjoy, of course: how about 7ac, 13 or 21d, for example? My favourite and therefore Clue of the Day is 2d:

“Why most of city is blocked in two directions (9)”

This crossword prompted some rather diverting discussions over at Fifteensquared, back in July 2011. Worth a look.

3 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1585 Dac”

  1. jonofwales said

    Tricky in places today, with a few obscurities, not least among them an abbreviation for Egypt that is 35 years out of date, and an audio format that feels just as old now. Lots to like despite that. My favourite clue was 9ac, produced of course by the late great Sir George Martin.

  2. Cornick said

    Ah-ha, I was expecting the bumbershoot-taking to get a mention. I’ve always said you can have mine, but you better never bother with me old bamboo.
    If it’s any consolation, I was feeling a bit dim half way through this, but the steady trickle of plants and obscure tropical fruit keeps coming to the rescue.

  3. Xdrow said

    These crossword coincidences always amaze me!

    9a – We can work it out!

    RIP Sir George Martin.

Comments are closed.

