i Cryptic Crossword 1583 Quixote

March 7, 2016

A gentle start to the week from Quixote, with the only major quandary being whether it was DROTEN or CROTON at 27ac.

COD? 22ac – ‘Something mentioned in the applied maths class producing temporary malaise? (6,2,7)’.

Back to July 2011 once more:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2011/07/11/independent-7717-by-quixote/

3 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1583 Quixote”

  1. Cornick said

    I liked your COD too, Jon. Not terribly gentle for me though, this one – some delays in the NW with 1, 2 & 3d all needing some head scratching. Plants are my business, though, so Croton was a write in, mercifully!

  2. AndyT said

    My spirits sink when plants appear in the crossword. (It’s the same with cocktails). Most of the time it turns out I have heard of them, but I’ve no idea why. Croton being one such case: although if you’d asked me “what’s a croton?”, I’d have hazarded a guess at a Greek orator or a means of jazzing up a dull soup.

  3. allan_c said

    An interesting puzzle that I don’t recall from its earlier appearance. CROTON I knew from its erroneous association with crotonic acid (which is not derived from croton oil), and IXION I remembered from a railway locomotive of that name (Ixion in Greek legend was bound on a fiery wheel and the locomotive was given the name after being modified for research into wheelslip).

    1dn held me up for a while on the false trail of ‘end up’ being ‘tip’ reversed but i got there in the end.

Comments are closed.

