i Cryptic Crossword 1581 Hypnos

March 4, 2016

An easy Sunday puzzle was what Uncle Yap who blogged this offering back in 2011 thought. Well I cant say I totally agree with that as not that many were just write in’s, the majority requiring some thought. 23d and 26a seem to have caused most trouble originally but once I had dredged Nick Clegg up from the recesses of my memory those two became obvious. in 26a case for the wrong reason as I though Copenhagen was the name of the horse in the stage musical Warhorse. It is 19d that I don’t like, the inclusion of  Looking in the clue causing me confusion. I do like anagrams and two stood out for me today 22a and 9d. Both would have been candidates for COD but for

1d   Men dance in Uncles haunt  (8)

Back to 2011 here  http://www.fifteensquared.net/2011/07/17/independent-on-sunday-1117-by-hypnos/

5 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1581 Hypnos”

  1. jonofwales said

    A read and write for the most part, and then there was the SW corner, which was far from being so. 23d and 26ac were particularly tricky.

  2. AndyT said

    Why no Y? Especially since 8d could so easily have been adapted to suit. Anyway, the pangram-that-wasn’t notwithstanding, this was neither trivially simple nor exasperatingly abstruse – not a bad way to finish off the week.

  3. Cornick said

    Did anyone else feel like they were doing a Dac with this one?
    SW corner was fine for me, my last two were 8d & 13a, but nothing too tricky.
    Just what I thought with the Y, AndyT, indeed I’ve been plotting an alternative clue.

  4. jonofwales said

    Thinking about it, I suspect the SW corner would have gone in a lot quicker if I’d remembered Nick Clegg. How fleeting fame is. 🙂

  5. dtw42 said

    26a and then 23d were the last in for me too.

Comments are closed.

