i Cryptic Crossword 1580 Morph

March 3, 2016

Inventive, witty, difficult in places. Yes, it’s exactly what we knew we were going to get when we saw the setter’s name. 🙂 20d doesn’t work the way I pronounce it, but that’s probably wrong, so I’m not really in a position to argue. Was I the only person to confidently enter SKY TV into 2d, and then agonise over 1ac for an age? Thought so…

COD? 17d – ‘Hearts’ punishments? (3,5)’.

Back to July 2011 once more:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2011/07/18/independent-7723-by-morph/

4 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1580 Morph”

  1. sprouthater said

    Certainly difficult in places. 6d and 7d were entered without fully understanding why . Last in was 1a, I got 2dright but just can’t see any real relationship between tapped and siphoned. My favourite was 16d

  2. AndyT said

    Quite heavy going for me, but not without a few appreciative smiles along the way. 28ac, 7d and 21d were capital clues in my opinion. Thursday generally means a treat or a trial … I reckon this was both.

  3. Cornick said

    Some pretty much write-ins, but several I couldn’t seem to work out what was going on for ages. I seem to remember Morph being easier than this when he started… I wonder, has he been incrementally ratcheting up the difficulty puzzle by puzzle perhaps?

  4. Lozzie said

    Yes, one “SKY TV”-er here, although I realised the correct answer almost immediately. A fair puzzle, with a few hold-up clues which needed a bit of thought.

Comments are closed.

