i Cryptic Crossword 1578 Raich

March 1, 2016

So, on St David’s Day, the i gives us a crossword with a theme, obviously, based on… famous composers associated with 7 8’s. I won’t hold it against Raich, but the crossword editor on the other hand… 🙂

I found this reasonably challenging, without ever really getting stuck for too long. Last ones in 9ac and 8ac, the latter entered without having the foggiest idea why.

COD? Impossible to get without checking letters, but I did like 14d – ‘Not crossing? (10)’.

Back to July 2011:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2011/07/05/independent-7712-raich/

Off topic, I see that the adverts for the digital version of the Independent make mention of interactive crosswords. Fingers crossed then that the concern voiced in some quarters that the Independent might ditch the cryptic is without foundation. I can’t see much hope for the barred grid puzzles, however, unless the i pick them up.

12 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1578 Raich”

  1. sprouthater said

    Same here with 8ac, liked 9ac just couldn’t see where the O came from. The use of Vacation in 11ac was, I thought a pretty dubious ploy but otherwise a pretty sound puzzle even if It did refer to a footballer.

  2. AndyT said

    Fairly hard work, and not especially entertaining, I thought. Finding Association footballers in the crossword generally puts a scowl on my face.

    Quite some time ago (back when it wasn’t uncommon for software to run in a DOS window, in fact) I was involved with testing an early interactive crossword programme. Never liked it, and my opinion is unchanged. So I hope the Independent takes a leaf out of the Guardian’s book and supplies a printable version. My fingers are still crossed for the barred puzzles, but I most certainly wouldn’t entertain the idea of tackling one of those on a screen.

    Even further off topic, I was casually browsing for crossword books yesterday, when I came across a copy of the first Independent volume for the surprising price of £299.98 (plus postage). Used, but in good condition. Since my upper limit is five pence plus delivery, it’s still available if anyone is interested. 🙂

    • jonofwales said

      I’m quite happy to solve onscreen if I’ve got a keyboard, but can’t imagine doing so on a tablet. Sounds tortuous.

      The pricing algorithms some third party sellers use sometimes throw up some… interesting results. 🙂

      • AndyT said

        Well, quite – all that messing around with hammer and chisel … oh, I see. I’m still very much an analogue native!

      • jonofwales said

        The Independent’s new business model is falling apart as we speak.

  3. sprouthater said

    I usually try The Independent crossword on my tablet and its no problem at all.

    • jonofwales said

      I suppose I should try before rejecting the idea outright. It would certainly be more convenient than lugging out the laptop every time. Do you do the crossword from their app, or the website?

  4. sprouthater said

    From the app which at times can be a little unstable so I click save after every entry

  5. Cornick said

    Same last two in here; seeing neither definition nor wordplay in 8a, I just put in the answer because it went well after ‘String’ and fitted the theme.
    Really dislike solving on a screen, always print off.

  6. dtw42 said

    I’m with AndyT in respect of today’s actual puzzle; in fact the pairing of 7 and 8ac were my last ones in, not really understanding 8 at all.

    Day to day, I solve the i on the physical newspaper, and on the occasions when I might go onto the Indy website for an online puzzle, I always click the menu option for a printable version and print that out (and am always amused by the printer-friendly page’s subtraction of a century from the current date).

  7. allan_c said

    Hmm. I was a bit off-course yesterday with my suggestion of what the theme might be. A case of 2+2=5, maybe.
    Interestingly though, having realised what/who the Austrians were it took me a while to link them with the German and it was only when QUARTET (my last one in) came up via a word finder as a possibility for 8ac that the whole theme became clear.

Comments are closed.

