i Cryptic Crossword 1575 Eimi

February 26, 2016

A crossword themed around Bob Dylan album titles is what we have today evidently, I wouldn’t know as I have precisely none or nada of them, this only caused a problem with the unfamiliar  18/29a.  A strange crossword  I thought only twelve across clues and six of those were anagrams and twenty down clues, half of which were three or four letter answers. Eimi also managed to include the cockney reference in 6d the schoolboy humour in 7d and the famous? golfer in 30a.  I suppose I’d rate the whole thing as average, the stand out for me was

COD 24/8a    What the model artist would produce  (4-8)

The original blog from 2011 is here

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2011/06/28/independent-7706eimi/

3 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1575 Eimi”

  1. jonofwales said

    I’ve listened to a fair bit of Dylan, and completely missed the theme! In retrospect, a few are familiar, though only vaguely. Thought 23d was quite difficult… Agree on the COD, and had similar difficulties with 18/29.

  2. AndyT said

    Now you come to mention it … yes, that passed me by too. As Sprouthater says, a peculiar crossword, and not especially to my taste. 20d was my LOI, and I still don’t see the point of the seaside area. Irritatingly I now have a song from Calamity Jane going around in my head, and having checked can confirm that Deadwood is nowhere near the coast.

  3. Cornick said

    As a work of grid filling, to get all the acrosses being album titles from the same artist is quite an achievement, but otherwise it was pretty average indeed. Love St Bob though, and agree on your COD choice, Sprouthater.

Comments are closed.

