i Cryptic Crossword 1574 Mordred

February 25, 2016

It’s been a while since we’ve seen Mordred in the i, so I wasn’t sure what to expect. As it turned out we got a bit of a challenge, but not unduly so, with a few unknowns (for me at least) at 12ac, 27ac, 18d, etc, and some quite novel wordplay. 29ac I think just works as an &lit, but only just. There are a few animals dotted round the place, but no nina as far as I can tell. I’m guessing I wasn’t the only person to have to check 22ac?

COD? 23d – ‘Mashed treat? (5)’.

Back to June 2011:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2011/06/16/independent-7696mordred/

4 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1574 Mordred”

  1. AndyT said

    Some trepidation here, seeing Mordred’s name at the top. Quite a surprise therefore to breeze through it without any serious trouble and a good deal of enjoyment, although 29ac had me sucking my teeth too. Yes, had to check 22, just to be on the safe side. Could’ve been a bird of prey, after all. 🙂

  2. Cornick said

    Apart from putting in Tithawk, checking it, then having to change it to Titlark, this was one where all the instructions were there and it was just a matter of following them – even if they were convoluted enough to necessitate turning off the radio (shock horror).
    Re the cricketers, it’s perhaps noteworthy that 46 test caps and you’re a ‘former England cricketer’, 52 and you’re a ‘batting hero’ – well, you’ve got to draw the line somewhere I suppose…

  3. Lozzie said

    Sad really, isn’t it? I also checked the test career of Chris Old, didn’t remember him as a 46-test bowler.
    I recalled 12A from my “modelling days” (Airfix, not catwalk) and 27A from my weather-related interests, having seen this rare phenomenon at least twice.
    I really liked 29A, feeling that it works on 2 levels, also 23D even though it was a write-in. Overall, enjoyable puzzle, one tiny gripe though: why the two ‘s in 13A, they seem superfluous to me.

    • Cornick said

      Ha! Very sad indeed! The ‘s thing cropped up recently on idothei; apparently it can be a possessive apostrophe indicating that one part of a charade possesses the subsequent part. I don’t like it either, but it does crop up.

Comments are closed.

