i Cryptic Crossword 1572 Tees

February 23, 2016

Well, it started well, with the NE corner filled in a matter of minutes, but it was all downhill from there. I think last week’s Azed took less time to complete than this. 🙂 There’s a little theme based round the pairings below, which I completely missed. I’d just assumed we were looking at various old, extremely obscure gods.

HAMLET’S FATHER
HEADLESS HORSEMAN
FLYING DUTCHMAN
JACOB MARLEY
BROWN LADY

Talking of obscurities, there were too many in this for my liking, 2d being the chief culprit. By the end I had a completed grid, but with tons of question marks and outstanding queries scribbled beside the clues. Less like this please.

COD? 24d – ‘Charlie lives alone in retreat for VIPs (7)’.

June 2011 once more:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2011/06/14/independent-7693-by-tees/

10 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1572 Tees”

  1. AndyT said

    I missed it too, not that I’d have cared much. Agree wholeheartedly: this was way too smart-alecky for a weekday, and it was only by dint of sheer bloodymindedness that I finished. A couple of serious gripes – the use of “aspen” and the slow moving component of 1d struck me as completely out of order; and I have yet to find a dictionary which allows the solution to 2d as a synonym for “die”. There are plenty more where those came from.

    Ah well, I note that it’s Arachne’s turn in the Guardian today, so that should cheer me up.

  2. sprouthater said

    Dreadful crossword today. Funny how the the original comments are all so positive.

  3. Cornick said

    Sorry to break ranks and all that, but I loved it. Not that I claim any objectivity – I confess to being a dyed in the wool Teesophile. Talking of dye, tessera is Latin for die, according to the etymological bit in Chambers, and Collins defines it as ‘a die used in classical times’.
    Aspen made me raise an eyebrow too but, given its definition in Chambers as ‘tremulous’ it surely makes a wonderful anagram indicator within the context of 4a. And I’d say a loris is indeed a slow moving being, if we accept ‘being’ as not necessarily a ‘human’ being.
    My only question was ‘Jacob’ being defined as ‘in Israel’, but I might just be being thick!
    Oh, and as for the Ghost theme (arf!) I wrote out Jacob Marley and Flying Dutchman in the margin, guessed there was something going on, but got no further than that.

    • Cornick said

      Yes, I was being thick – just looked it up and Jacob IS Israel, the bloke who’s father of the Israelites – live and learn!

    • AndyT said

      Yes, I’ve found tessera = die in a Latin dictionary, but not in an English one (where it is a cube sans dots, among other things). No sign of aspen as anything other than a noun … but that said my copy of Chambers still hasn’t turned up. “Being” definition 4 in the Oxford Reference Dictionary is “anything that exists or is imagined”, so I suppose that just about covers the sluggish primate, and much else besides. To be fair, these three didn’t hold me up, but they did provoke some outraged snorting. Anyway, glad to hear that one of us enjoyed it!

      • Cornick said

        Thanks for the Arachne tip-off – just printed it off as a distraction from the footie. 🙂

      • AndyT said

        Boatman’s “West Country” puzzle (no. 26810) the other day was a nicely convoluted little challenge, just in case you missed it. Might come in handy if proceedings go to extra time. 🙂

  4. Lozzie said

    Similar experience to jon above, breezed through the NE corner then more or less hit a brick wall, although having found “dutchman” “horseman” and “marley” I was on the lookout for partner words. Had to call “Hoa!” at football time, but managed to finish with some reference help later, esp with 32A. 24D & 14A, the latter which I spelled incorrectly, like the original blogger. I was also convinced for a while that 3D was “?ambridge” from crossing letters, surely not another “Archers” link?!

  5. dtw42 said

    Bah. More dislike from me. Still don’t understand 19ac even with the fifteensquared blog (no, don’t bother explaining, I won’t appreciate it), and agree that there were far too many obscure references and iffy definitions for my liking. No, I didn’t see the theme. Next please.

  6. Yertiz said

    “tessera” definition you seek is in the OED, first entry

Comments are closed.

