i Cryptic Crossword 1571 Quixote

February 22, 2016

How’s your American geography, biology, and knowledge of opera? Mine isn’t really up to scratch, so a few of these needed some googling to check, in particular 20ac where there were several possibilities given the wordplay. A stiffer challenge than we’re used to from the Don, then, but one that rewarded a bit of patience and perseverance.

COD? While I’m tempted by the dig at the then ubiquitous puzzle referenced in 10ac, I’ll go with 4d – ‘It may put a king in an unstable situation (5,2,5)’.

June 2011 once more:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2011/06/27/independent-7705-by-quixote/

3 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1571 Quixote”

  1. AndyT said

    Well, that’s a first: a clue for 11d – and an anagram to boot – which doesn’t involve Lohengrin. Definitely a bit more of a challenge that the Monday Quixotes we were accustomed to until recently, and I thoroughly enjoyed it.

  2. sprouthater said

    What a good start to the week , Felt particularly pleased with myself for remembering buskin and that torc was a necklace. 4d was my COD too closely beating 16d

  3. Lozzie said

    4D best for me also, a real “face-palmer” that! Enjoyed this, liked also 17D, although I did question the first use of the word “in” for this clue, which seems unnecessary to me.

Comments are closed.

