i Prize Cryptic Crossword 1564 by Phi

February 20, 2016

Saturday 13th February  2016

In which Phi put a circle of long lights around the outside and managed to fill in the rest without recourse to either theme or Nina.  Phew!

‘Dreidel’ at 16a defeated me because, having guessed it from the wordplay, I went looking in both Chambers and Collins but found it not. It’s a Jewish spinning top, as you probably knew.

I liked 14a – expects – although it caused some controversy over on Fifteensquared, hinging on whether ‘abandoned animals’ are necessarily ‘ex-pets’ – did it require a question mark, some wondered?

My COD, however, goes to possibly my favourite clueing devise, the inverse anagram. Here it is again:

8d A dangerous thing, the panel? (5,8)

And for the original blog with answers click here.

5 Responses to “i Prize Cryptic Crossword 1564 by Phi”

  1. I failed to get ‘dreidel’ but when I found it on fifteen squared I remembered a line in a very old Don McLean song – something about feeling like a spinning top or a dreidel – but much too well buried in the dusty recesses of my brain to find it earlier!

  2. Lozzie said

    Also liked 8D as a very clever devise, but really not happy about 13A:
    one=drink (eg one for the road)
    one=joke (eg a good one)
    one=unpleasant task/hit (eg take one for the team)
    one in the eye for / the One …. (episode of Friends)/one in the oven / one that got away ….

    “one” can refer to so many things! Having said that, it’s quite a neat clue and I did enjoy the crossword!

  3. AndyT said

    Dreidel isn’t in the OED either, so I had to confirm it electronically. Ordinarily that’s an admission of defeat in my book, but I don’t feel particularly ashamed. I have a tick next to 8d, a worthy COD … but there are two of them by 6d, so that would be my choice.

  4. jonofwales said

    Ah yes, Dreidel. It was all going so well until then.

  5. dtw42 said

    That one tripped me up too, but – like Olivia – I remembered it after the event from a reference in a song. (In my case, Tom Lehrer’s “(I’m Spending) Hanukkah In Santa Monica”.)

Comments are closed.

