i Cryptic Crossword 1568 Punk

February 18, 2016

A fun, and pretty straightforward puzzle from Punk, with loads going in from the definition and / or partial wordplay alone (5d, 26ac, 13d for example). First in 1ac, last in 8d. No theme today as far as I can tell, despite 5d.

COD? 9ac – ‘Composer Bliss shaved during sleep in Sussex village (5,5)’, just because I liked the z’s for sleep.

Back to June 2011:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2011/06/09/independent-7690punk/

6 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1568 Punk”

  1. sprouthater said

    Enjoyed most of this but had question marks next to 9a,5d and 14a but they were resolved by the fifteensquared blog. Ashamed to admit that despite a dislike of Spoonerisms and of Rap music 15d was a write in. My last in was 14a , i’ve heard of aphids but aphis was new to me.

  2. AndyT said

    It’s very unfair of me to say this, but I was slightly disappointed … Punk’s name at the top raises expectations rather and I was looking forward to one of his specials. A fine, entertaining crossword all the same, but it would have been nice if it lasted longer.

  3. dtw42 said

    The ZZs in 9ac were a nice touch, but the Sussex village was a bit obscure!

  4. Cornick said

    I suspect I would have loved this a couple of years ago, but as I’ve since begun to get the hang of this crossword solving malarkey, I’m rather inclined to agree with AndyT today – especially as, with an aunt in Frant, the only possible obstacle to a swift solve was happily removed.

  5. Lozzie said

    As previously said, nice while it lasted. Liked 6D, 8D, 26A.

Comments are closed.

