i Cryptic Crossword 1567 Dac

February 17, 2016

I returned home the other day to find the estimable Ms Mgurure fitting a hasp, staple and large padlock to the door of the wine cellar. When I pointed out that Onions had always taken it upon himself to fill the role of sommelier, she replied that she had discussed the matter with him and they had agreed that she should take over responsibility for matters oenological. This accompanied by a look which seemed freighted with meaning. She also gave me something called a spreadsheet, apparently, by means of which I’m supposed to keep track of the stock. Seems we’re running low on the Trockenbeerenauslese, which is a rum thing since I don’t recall drinking any of it. Still, on the plus side I’d forgotten the cask of Amontillado. Perhaps I should invite that blister Hugo round for a snifter.

Do we have any toxophilites in the house? If not, as seems likely, 19d might have caused a few raised eyebrows. One also wonders whether 27ac is well remembered these days. Otherwise today’s puzzle was a gentler affair than either of last week’s offerings from Dac, and it goes without saying that all the clues were buffed up to a high lustre. Incidentally, he got by with just two anagrams, which strikes me as unusual. I particularly liked 18 and 24ac, and 2 and 6d, but thought that they were just pipped for COD by 11d:

“Rogue from South America said to harbour aspiration to be statesmanlike (12)”

Please click here for the May 2011 Fifteensquared postmortem.

6 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1567 Dac”

  1. jonofwales said

    The SE corner I found quite tough. An author and fish I didn’t know, a well disguised definition at 16d, and a choice between MOOR and MORE at 23d.

  2. 19d was easy to fill in, but took me a while to work out why! We live and learn.

  3. I filled in the answer to 19d long before I found out why!

  4. Cornick said

    Like Tony T, I suspect, I am also non-toxophilite – despite the best efforts of the ‘alternative’ educators of my youth.
    When I start dropping words like toxophilite, sommelier and oenological into the conversation, Mrs Cornick raises an eyebrow, as if to say ‘Have you been on the crosswords again?’

  5. dtw42 said

    Oh well just apropos of the mention of sommeliers, perhaps I can get away with a link to this cartoon: http://peoplewithissues.org/2012/01/10/rubbish-joke/

Comments are closed.

