i Cryptic Crossword 1565 Hypnos

February 15, 2016

A puzzle of two halves for me. The top half went in with the alacrity we’re accustomed to on a Monday, the bottom half I laboured over for an age. In part I blame the pretty tough, and some might say unfair, wordplay in 26ac (that’s a pretty obscure French word!)

COD? 15d, which eluded me for far too long – ‘A form of behaviour seen in lifts? (9)’.

Back to June 2011:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2011/06/19/independent-on-sunday-1113-by-hypnos/

5 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1565 Hypnos”

  1. sprouthater said

    A good puzzle spoilt by 26a. Didn’t particularly like 10a, 27a and 28a but the rest I thought excellent.

  2. AndyT said

    It was the top left which held me up. The things I associate with Mansfield are “Park” and “Katherine” … oh, all right then, “Town” as well, but not their nickname. So that was mildly annoying. Otherwise, a workmanlike but not particularly memorable effort, I thought.

  3. dtw42 said

    Cor, well now that I’ve had 26ac explained, I feel grumpy about it too. I put the answer in from the def and the checked letters but I didn’t understand it at the time. Last one in for me was 16ac, not because it was hard at all, but just because I had a hole in my brain, clearly.

  4. Cornick said

    And Hypnos has just beaten the record for unsmiley faces in the margin of my paper. Eight. Although pagan being defined as ‘one with no faith’ must just be a personal gripe – Chambers has it too. 😦

  5. Lozzie said

    Liked 14A, 28A: as with others, guessed 26A from the checked letters and 16A my last one in also.
    As regards 10A, I will never forget my one and only “Stags” experience. Circa 1980, two hours standing in torrential rain in the roofless “away” end, drenched to the skin, then coach windows stoned & smashed on the way home – such happy days? !

Comments are closed.

