i Prize Cryptic Crossword 1558 by Phi

February 13, 2016

Saturday 6th February  2016

In the comments section at Fifteensquared, where you can find all the answers and parsing (just click here), Phi tells us how he maintains a list of interesting words to clue. What a thought!   We could all have a list like that: Mugwump, swizzle, flummox, bamboozle, etc.  So in this puzzle he used some of those words ‘to alleviate the dread of starting a blank grid’ as he puts it.  One of those seed words was ‘Placket’, he says; I wonder which were the other ones …

Good clues – even if I do get a bit exasperated at still having to crack new abbreviations like ap for apparently and tec for detective (although now that second one does ring a bell).

For my COD, and just pipping the very clever 12a, I’d like to forgive a bit of ‘etymological crossover’ from wordplay to definition and go for the highly satisfying 9d:

Council wordsmith in place (5,9)

5 Responses to “i Prize Cryptic Crossword 1558 by Phi”

  1. AndyT said

    “Ap” clearly bothered me, since I have three dots next to 24ac – my shorthand for “what, really …”? Otherwise there’s a healthy sprinkling of ticks, including a particularly emphatic one for 12ac.

    “Tec” is an instance of venerable slang extinct in the wild and now only to be seen in crosswords, as far as I know. Real Dashiel Hammett era stuff, like “grease” for money or “rod” for a gun – come to think of it I haven’t seen the latter in ages. These words have a certain charm (Mr Batarde loves ’em), but they’re a serious obstacle for novice solvers.

  2. Lozzie said

    “Tec” is OK IMO, although like “dick”, it seems somewhat out of usage. “Ap”, however, – no way! Liked 12A, 16D.

    • Lozzie said

      ….and by way of contrast, today’s Sunday Express skeleton contains the other obvious “detective” indicator, “P.I.” (as in Magnum…)

  3. jonofwales said

    Tec and Ap didn’t really worry me – the first I’d come across in pulp fiction / film noir over the years, the latter I sort of guessed as looking plausible. Can I remember anything else about this puzzle? Mmmm, no..

  4. Rick K said

    Pleased to finish this after failing utterly on last Saturday

Comments are closed.

