i Cryptic Crossword 1561 Dac

February 10, 2016

I have retired to the reading room of my club this morning on account of the new housekeeper Ms Mgurure. She reminds me of Mary Poppins, in terms of her sunny disposition and productivity at any rate, although her chosen mode of musical expression tends to be the hymn. It’s all a bit much for one who isn’t at his best ante meridiem, so I beat my retreat to the strains of “Onward Christian Soldiers”.

Solvers today should cast their minds back to the heady days of April 2011, else 1ac isn’t going to make much sense. It’s not Dac’s fault of course, but really that clue should have been revised before the puzzle was reused. I found it quite challenging by this setter’s usual standards – perhaps a couple of mildly obscure solutions and the presence of a foreign footballer can be put down to the pangram. First rate and highly enjoyable, anyway. Plaudits for the succinctly clued anagram at 5d, and the clever 11ac, but my COD is 24ac:

“Not a dish pal cooked during winter month, except for starters (5,4)”

Much praise for Dac’s elegant work at Fifteensquared.

6 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1561 Dac”

  1. dtw42 said

    That 24ac was my LOI.

    Didn’t understand the “unlimited audience” bit of 15ac, so the fifteensquared link was welcome to explain that! 🙂

  2. jonofwales said

    I’m not sure if I’m just tired, but I made very heavy weather of that, as long as I’ve taken on a crossword in the i in ages!

  3. Cornick said

    Excellent cluesmithery, and the hardest Dac I can remember.
    My first read through yielded nothing, nada, nix, and it was then ironically 1a (MM being 11 years ago…) which was the first to fall followed by the rest like dominoes – eventually!

    • Cornick said

      Also, isn’t it curious how Zidane’s role as Real Madrid’s coach has been updated, yet the presumably much easier task of altering ‘eleven’ to ‘sixteen’ in 1a was left undone.

  4. sprouthater said

    Took a while but really enjoyed it. Needed Google to confirm 11a,
    20d and 26a all of which were new to me.

  5. Lozzie said

    Took me ages to get into this, possibly distracted by football on TV. As with the original blogger, I could not see where the final s of 3D came from for a while. My last one in was 19D, knew the answer but just didn’t see the reverse cut-out which I thought was well disguised.

Comments are closed.

