i Cryptic Crossword 1560 Raich

February 9, 2016

I’ve been a fan of 19ac for too many years now, and with the death of 23ac still fresh in mind, as soon as I solved 11ac I guessed what the theme might be. I worried for a moment that some of the groups / singers might be unfamiliar, but as it turned out the only obscurity was the city mentioned in 12ac (at least to me). A quick solve then, but an enjoyable one. Last ones in 8d and 31ac, where I was staring at .E.E.T on both for far too long.

COD? 23ac – ‘Celebrity’s misfortune during taxi shortage (5,5)’.

June 2011 again today:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2011/06/07/independant-7688-raich/

8 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1560 Raich”

  1. sprouthater said

    Pretty straightforward my last in was 19d knew what it was just couldn’t see why, not until I had actually written it did it become obvious. While I am old enough to be familiar with all bands/ singers in the theme I think the best music was made by 2d. In fact 11a,12a, 23a and 29a make me 16a.

  2. AndyT said

    What, was there a theme then? ๐Ÿ˜‰ Not really my sort of thing, but pretty fair puzzle nevertheless. That long running radio soap opera managed to find its way into the grid: seems there’s no escaping it.

  3. dtw42 said

    I was obviously not on song today; just finished at 3pm after a slowish solve. Last in for me were 29ac and then 20dn.

  4. Lozzie said

    A few standard double definitions, but an enjoyable solve, 19D my last in also as couldn’t readily work out why. Liked 16A, 23A.

  5. Cornick said

    8d was DEFECT. A double definition, of course.

Comments are closed.

