i Prize Cryptic Crossword 1552 by Phi

February 6, 2016

Saturday 30th January  2016

I am not completely ignorant to your probable disinterest in Phi’s themes and Ninas. After all, when we do a puzzle we just do it a clue at a time, those other shenanigans are irrelevant, aren’t they?   And yet, that’s how Phi usually starts his puzzles, with a germ of an idea, often taken from the world of literature.  Last week it was a series of books by Christopher FOWLER, including VICTORIA VANISHES, Bryant & May ON THE LOOSE and Bryant & May OFF THE RAILS.

As for the clues themselves, in my old copy he gained no fewer than seven ticks by his clues – a fair haul, all things considered. I was pleased to meet the romanticise/ creationism anagram at 28a (though it didn’t get one of those ticks) but my COD goes to the neat and gently amusing 20a:

Going South-East, having freedom (2,3,5)

Oh, and did I spot that ghost theme? Of course not – I Googled ‘Victoria Fowler’ after I’d finished, but to no avail.

Click here to go back to 2011 and all the answers.

4 Responses to “i Prize Cryptic Crossword 1552 by Phi”

  1. AndyT said

    Is it my imagination, or has there been a steady (ahem) trickle of lavatorial clues just lately? A worthy COD, anyway. I really should have spotted the theme for once, having devoured the Bryant and May books a few years ago. With considerable relish I might add – recommended.

  2. dtw42 said

    Well, that’s another theme gone right over my head unnoticed 😉

  3. Lozzie said

    I highlighted 20A also 16D as likes.
    Gives a new meaning to “when the going gets tough”

  4. jonofwales said

    Every week I try to spot the Phi theme, and every week I fail to spot it. At least this reminded me that I’ve been meaning to check out some books by Christopher Fowler…

Comments are closed.

