i Cryptic Crossword 1557 Hypnos

February 5, 2016

Nothing to difficult here, the four long fifteen letter answers went in without the need to properly  parse them, a shame really as the setter goes to the trouble of creating a cryptic clue but due to the just one small part or the grouping of letters the whole answer seems obvious. A couple of grimaces from me were 18a and 15d where we enter just the first letter of words in the clue with, as far as I could see no apparent indication. 18a especially.  With a figure largely = w+a+te  or am I missing something here?  So to the COD the one that really stood out for me was

24a  Insensitive graduate leading boy, awkward tiro  (9)

Back to April 2011 here    http://www.fifteensquared.net/2011/04/17/independent-on-sunday-1104-by-hypnos/

 

3 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1557 Hypnos”

  1. jonofwales said

    Pretty much a read and write, apart from 4ac/d and 5d which held me up for a while at the end. ‘w’ as an abbreviation for ‘with’ I’m not particularly fond of, but it seems to appear fairly regularly now. I see that AndyT’s dreaded ‘Recurrent’ has popped up again. 🙂

  2. Cornick said

    All sailing along very pleasantly until stuck on LOI 4d. I chanced into Bradfords Building Supplies in St Austell only to meet the yardman, James Henderson, brother to Nimrod – I now have a completed puzzle, thank you James.

  3. AndyT said

    “Recurrent” is duly noted – just don’t expect me to like it. All pretty straightforward, but I got hung up on 13d for a while, having never considered one of those an “ornamental feature”. Brass weathercocks and gazebos came more readily to mind. 🙂

Comments are closed.

