i Cryptic Crossword 1555 Dac

February 3, 2016

Not a lot to report this week, I’m relieved to say, given the recent drama. As it turned out what with the unusual circumstances, the agency has upgraded us from a chambermaid to a housekeeper at no extra cost as a gesture of goodwill, and it’s fair to say that Ms Mgurure has hit the ground running, as it were. Onions is scared of her, I swear it. She gives the impression that she will not rest until the household is reorganised to her satisfaction – I have retreated to my study.

Ever so slightly disgruntled today. The phrase “direct inverse proportion” in the opinion piece got things off to a bad start, and then there’s the matter of 13ac. I bitterly object to American spellings on grounds of taste and literacy, so that’s a no ball. Otherwise, a typical Wednesday puzzle, quickly solved and characterised by a pithy turn of phrase and the odd display of wit. Ordinarily 3 and 6 would be strong candidates for a clue of the day, but the strikingly economical 14ac wins the prize this time:

“Credit card finder? (8,6)”

All the usual solutions, comments and glosses are available at the Fifteensquared blog from just under five years ago, along with some nostalgia about the long defunct Access card. I did wonder whether that reference would be lost on younger solvers.

5 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1555 Dac”

  1. jonofwales said

    Struggled with a couple of clues today, in particular 3ac and 14ac, a term I vaguely remembered in the end. Perhaps a little before my time. V nice clue though.

  2. sprouthater said

    Needed dictionary conformation for 3a and 12a both unfamiliar to me but fairly clued. Agree with your opinion of 13a and didn’t like news= nn in 27a.

  3. Cornick said

    Similar sentiments here re 3ac. 14ac, though well within my memory (alas) was slow to yield its secret but a super clue, I agree.
    If you’re able to amend the entry for our COD, Batarde, it might be prudent to do so; knowing what a stickler she is, I fear Ms Mgurure might initiate industrial action if she spots that missing question mark.

    • AndyT said

      Consider it done. There does seem to be a lot of muttering about 3ac which I honestly didn’t think was obscure, whereas 7d was a new one for me, albeit easily deduced.

  4. Lozzie said

    No chance with 3A, a term new to me, liked your COD also, from the (1970s?) TV ads for “Access- your 14A”.

Comments are closed.

