i Cryptic Crossword 1553 Quixote

February 1, 2016

A fairly gentle start to the week, apart from the SE corner which I found quite tough. A difficult anagram at 22, an unknown synonym and answer at 27, and a cryptic it took me too long to see at 23 all conspired to slow things down. Or perhaps it’s just Monday.

COD? 14ac – ‘Maybe she fixes decrees (14)’.

To the warmer days of June 2011:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2011/06/13/independent-7693-by-quixote/

14 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1553 Quixote”

  1. dtw42 said

    I too finished with 22, 23, and 27. Had the answers for 23 and 27 without really understanding why (still don’t think much of the cryptic element of 23: if indirect anagrams are frowned upon, shouldn’t indirect deletions be, too?) and was waiting to get 22 before putting them in. Thankfully I dragged up knowledge of laevo- and dextro- as the left- and right-handed versions of molecules and made a logical stab at the sugar in question.

    Agree with 14ac as CoD – took a while for the penny to drop on that one. 🙂

  2. AndyT said

    In complete agreement here. I didn’t much care for 23 and 27, especially the former. However, 14 was splendid.

  3. Cornick said

    If anyone fancied doing another puzzle, I have just had my latest put on Big Dave’s site here: http://crypticcrosswords.net/puzzles/rookie-corner/rookie-corner-095/ Good luck!

    • AndyT said

      Yes, please! 🙂

      • AndyT said

        … well that was fun, as expected. In view of 27ac I spent quite a while trying to work out where I’d gone wrong … rather sneaky, that!

    • sprouthater said

      Well done Cornick only finished it after consulting Chambers for 27ac which like 22ac in the i was new to me. Probably missing the obvious but I can’t really parse 22d ?

      • Cornick said

        Cheers!
        Erm, do you mean 23d? M(ovie) in IA [iowa] + GO = be there! 27a is only there because it’s a nice word – which was not exactly a theme, more of the starting point in the grid construction.

      • sprouthater said

        Sorry I did it online and am swapping between pages. I meant 21d

      • Cornick said

        In French arm(s) = bras.

      • sprouthater said

        Um doing it online I can check the answers and , trying different options, I entered wrench which it indicated was correct. As i’ve said before I have almost no knowledge of the French language and don’t believe it should be necessary to have to do an English crossword.

      • AndyT said

        27ac is indeed a nice word, which I only came across a few months ago in the course of some research into monastic book production in the Dark Ages. A 27ac sentence being a pangram by the strict definition, hence my consternation. They seem to have been used as warm-up exercises for cold scribal fingers.

        By the way, I thought 2d was a real gem: bravo!

    • jonofwales said

      Cheers! I’ll have a go at that one tonight.

    • dtw42 said

      Thanks for that one Cornick; very good! 🙂

    • jonofwales said

      Very good, thoroughly enjoyed. 27ac was obscure but fairly clued. 21d was clever, and I failed to solve it. 🙂

Comments are closed.

