i Prize Cryptic Crossword 1546 by Phi

January 30, 2016

Saturday 23rd January  2016

Well for some reason I didn’t enjoy last week’s Phi quite as much as usual.  Maybe our setter was unduly influenced by the subject of his Nina – building Christchurch from the bottom up – very topical in 2011 after the devastation of the earthquake of course, especially given that Phi lives in New Zealand himself.  Or maybe it was just me, because looking back at the puzzle now, I can’t really see anything not to like.

I saw Christ on one side and Church on the other and thought maybe the names in the grid were Oxford alumni, but no, they were suburbs of Christchurch – which I had no way of knowing, despite being the kind of saddo who reads the Atlas for fun.

Despite having seen something very like it in the past somewhere else, my COD goes to 21d:

Sport: wrong item for it turning up here (6)

Click here to go back to 2011 and all the answers.

5 Responses to “i Prize Cryptic Crossword 1546 by Phi”

  1. Lozzie said

    Nina and NZ references escaped me completely, although found it enjoyable. I highlighted 10A & 20D as favourite face-palmers!

  2. AndyT said

    Nope: passed me by too. Still, not spotting the nina doesn’t detract much from a perfectly decent puzzle.

  3. jonofwales said

    The Nina passed me by as well, during the embarrassingly long time I spent struggling with this puzzle. Of late Phi seems to be on one wavelength, and me another one far away.

  4. Rick K said

    I’m with Cornick, I struggled with this one…always find place names and famous people a little frustrating as answers. Which no doubt reflects my lack of general knowledge and perseverance on the word play. Failed on Hornby and a part fail on Bexley (Henley) – but still enjoyable for the ones I did manage, I should certainly have liked harder for the nina which could have been helpful. Thanks to Cornick for the blog, always good to get a second perspective. Next please.

Comments are closed.

