i Cryptic Crossword 1551 Nestor

January 29, 2016

To me this was very hard in fact I gave up leaving 17 and 18d unsolved and a few others like 21a and 20d with question marks to their veracity. The French reference in 4d was the least of my troubles as I am unfamiliar with far eastern airlines and sauces and what I think are technical terms from computing in 5d, 17d and 20d. I also think Perry Mason is probably a bit obscure now. Of course their were some good clues amid the obscurities, 1a and 24a particularly but my pick simply because I like the old chestnut of china plate is

COD 10a Golden Horse, one of many toppling when China ousts leader?  (8)

Oh yes I nearly forgot the Nina. I missed it but it is quite clever.

This was of course a Saturday Prize puzzle which originally appeared on the 25th June 2011 and here is the solution and blog

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2011/07/02/independent-7704-by-nestor/

 

 

 

4 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1551 Nestor”

  1. jonofwales said

    Thanks for the blog on what was a pretty challenging day! This took three separate sittings to get to the end of, so probably the toughest puzzle we’d had in a while. Perhaps more suited to a weekend, but fair and above board, as always from Nestor.

  2. Cornick said

    Left Luggage; Right Of Reply – very good – but, as often happens with me, I made a mental note to check for a Nina early on and then completely forgot to do so. Gnash gnarr!
    A really enjoyable and stiff challenge, with the last half dozen clues requiring both my regular dictionary and my shiny new Chambers crossword dictionary.
    Knew Garuda but nuoc mam, euphuism, lossier and noughth all new to me, though fairly clued.

  3. AndyT said

    Once again, well done Sprouthater: I’ve finished Mephistos quicker than this one. I did spot the Nina (without getting the joke), which was just as well because I’d probably still be struggling with the SW corner otherwise. Pretty darn good all told, and fair.

  4. Lozzie said

    Really, an oriental airline and a Thai dip, it’s just not cricket! As for Perry Mason, upon explaining 15D to my wife, her reaction was “That’s a bit ancient!” Liked 2D and 4D though.

Comments are closed.

