i Cryptic Crossword 1550 Klingsor

January 28, 2016

I solved this in dribs and drabs, and with a lot of distractions, so it’s difficult to judge how easy, or otherwise, this was. Solvers back in the day thought this was on the easy side, though, so I’ll go with that. 1d I have to say threw me at the end, as I’ve never come across either the synonym for infatuation, or the governor in question.

COD? I liked the very deceiving ‘First Lady’ in 13ac, which had me stuck on EVE for a long time, but I’m nominating 23ac for the very nice surface reading – ‘Bill’s back with your old woman (5)’.

We’re back to April 2011 again:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2011/04/11/independent-7639-by-klingsor/

6 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1550 Klingsor”

  1. sprouthater said

    On Tuesday Tees wrote how some long answers were deduced visually rather than the intended way. I found this was the case with quite a few today. Once I’d got a few checking letters in the more elaborately clued answers went in without properly parsing them. When reading the comments of solvers on fifteensquared I very often find myself agreeing with Kathryn’s Dad and do so today about the use of foreign words. All I remember of my french lessons is listening to Edith Piaf records , looking at pictures in Paris Match and having a board rubber thrown at me by a fearsome French master, Happy days

  2. AndyT said

    Thursday, so treat or trial? No gritting of teeth here nor furrowing of brow and quite a few interesting convolutions, so this one gets a cheerful thumbs up. 12, 19 and 24 stood out for me.

    In my experience the amount of foreign vocabulary retained in later life depends largely on the quality of the teaching one received at school, so whilst my German is quite respectable I have small Latin and less French. Both of today’s examples were familiar enough though, for what it’s worth – one being a regular crossword chestnut and the other part of a well known loan-phrase as Kathryn’s Dad conceded.

  3. Cornick said

    Possibly our easiest Klingsor so far, I thought, though I did fail on 21d AIRY. Enjoyed it.
    On foreign languages I think the setters have it about right – quite happy with ete and etat today.
    I do though question the expected level of general knowledge within the Arts. It seems to me that whilst we are often served a painter and even more so a composer from outside the top 100 (and that I’ve never heard of), the list of playwrights we’re likely to encounter barely gets into double figures.

  4. Lozzie said

    As often happens in my household, I was left to finish off the last ten or so clues. I thought 12D and 24A quite clever, although I also failed on 21D (cheerful =airy??). I can see how 1D works, but pash= infatuation was a new one on me. 24A ET again!

    To throw in my ha’porth, the greater diversity of languages taught in schools, with Spanish (especially) and oriental languages increasing in take-up, to the exclusion of French and (to a lesser extent) German, may well lead to quizzes with clues such as today’s becoming inaccessible to future solvers.

  5. allan_c said

    Another puzzle that I’d done before and totally forgotten. But no matter, sometimes these puzzles seem to have a topical reference which may or may not be coincidence. This time we had RUBELLA at 15ac and it’s just been announced that rubella vaccinations are to be phased out because the disease is all but eliminated in the UK. How far in advance are the puzzles for the i chosen?

Comments are closed.

