i Prize Cryptic Crossword 1540 by Phi

January 23, 2016

Saturday 16th January  2016

As the self-appointed Phi-ologist of the idothei blogging team, I think he’s going through a rather rich vein of form at the moment –  there’s definitely been an extra bit of sparkle recently and last weekend was no exception – long may it continue!

Being Phi, a simple pangram was never going to be enough of a challenge for his grid filling, and, with HOAX and AXIOM as two of my first in, I guessed we were heading for a double pretty early on. Not that pangrams ever really help much until the last very few perhaps, but this was definitely useful for my LOI – JAGS – which are drinking binges in America, apparently.

I’m sometimes a bit snooty about anagrams, but once again I find myself picking one as my COD; here it is again:

24a   Tail on a dog wags, indicating canine problem? (10)

Click here to go back to 2011 and all the answers.

9 Responses to “i Prize Cryptic Crossword 1540 by Phi”

  1. Lozzie said

    I had highlighted 9A MAPPAMUNDI and 15A BRUSQUER as particular likes, the latter appearing an odd word to me the more I look at it!
    RE: JAG – I remember the American “Mad” magazine from my slightly misspent youth, one item featured “Manduck the Magician” who would treat himself to a “hypnotic jag” by means of a handheld mirror.

  2. AndyT said

    Not sure that I see much point in pangrams, but cramming two in is jolly clever, no doubt about it. You’re right: it’s been a good run from Phi recently.

    • Cornick said

      Here’s a quadruple, plus a discussion about whether there’s any point!
      http://www.crosswordunclued.com/2015/03/quadruple-pangram-in-thc.html

      • AndyT said

        Interesting. That really is a tour de force, and well worth while just for the sake of it. (Like someone arranging all the letters of the alphabet around the perimeter of the grid in order …). 🙂

        As Anax says in the discussion there’s the danger of running into cluing difficulties with multiples, but other than that I’m certainly not agin pangrams – just wondering whether they’re worth the compilers’ efforts.

  3. jonofwales said

    I remember struggling with this, but little else. I don’t mind a pangram, double or not. What I don’t like is when it’s used as a justification to shove a load of obscure words into the grid. 😉

  4. Rick K said

    I’m a weekend solver only, and not a good one at that…I just managed to finish this one before the blog turned up, most got done last weekend but for some reason got blocked on vipera and inamorato. Happily they finally dropped into place…thanks to phi for a good challenge and Cornick for the blog

  5. sdf said

    I do not know if it’s just me or if perhaps everybody else experiencing problems with your blog.
    It appears like some of the text in your content are running off the screen. Can somebody else please comment and let me know if this is happening to
    them too? This could be a issue with my internet browser because I’ve
    had this happen before. Thank you

    • jonofwales said

      I’m guessing it’s just you. I’ve accessed using a number of browsers, and via the mobile site, and it’s OK on all. Try using a different browser, or upgrading to a newer version if possible.

Comments are closed.

