i Cryptic Crossword 1543 Dac

January 20, 2016

Jeffrey Batarde is unwell.

Regular readers may be forgiven for suspecting a case of brain fever, but in fact my employer was the victim of an accident precipitated by the cat, Asmodeus. Mr Batarde is keen to tell the story himself next week, but in the interim has asked me to provide the crossword blog. Charmaine the chambermaid took the business very badly and has left the household, the offending animal accompanying her in an old picnic hamper. Her words, if I remember correctly, were “Alas, by introducing the wicked creature into his home I have brought about the downfall of dear, kindly Mr. Battered. I shall return to my Aunt Scarlet: ’tis no more than I deserve”. Quite where she gets her vocabulary is a mystery to me. I have contacted Miss Snape at the agency, with a view to securing the services of a replacement.

Mr Batarde has on occasion complained of the difficulty of singling out an outstanding clue on Wednesdays, and I now find myself similarly perplexed. Much to enjoy, nothing to complain of and a general evenness of quality meant that nothing leapt out at me. Candidates included 10, 21, 16 and 19, but since there must be a Clue of the Day, I shall nominate a perfectly straightforward cryptic with a pleasing solution:

11d “Bows taken by only some members of the orchestra? Nonsense (12)

One of the comments on the Fifteensquared blog post from April 2011 suggests that clue has “been round the block a bit”, which may well be true but it’s none the worse for it and hasn’t cropped up recently to my knowledge.

Normal service will be resumed next week. Thank you for your attention.

B. Onions

4 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1543 Dac”

  1. jonofwales said

    Lots to like as we expect on a Wednesday, on the easier side for Dac I thought, finished comfortably over lunch. I liked 10ac, where the answer came quickly, but the explanation less so.

  2. sprouthater said

    Have to agree with Mr Onions here nothing to get excited about. I found it a bit of a vanilla puzzle.

    • Cornick said

      Ha! I was going to say Merlot.
      Highlight for me was getting my 14-year-old away from the X-box to solve and fill in 24a – his name. Small beginnings…

  3. Lozzie said

    A few good Columbo-esque “face-palmers” here, notably 11D which amused me. Was completely stuck on 12A for a while, last in, having convinced myself the first part was “combination” (police, comb …) but was disappointed with the correct answer, which appears to me a rather dated term.

Comments are closed.

