i Cryptic Crossword 1542 Radian

January 19, 2016

It’s Tuesday, so there must be a theme. Thankfully today’s was clearly flagged from the start, so I didn’t have to go looking for it. 5d, which is a term I dragged up from the depths of my memory. Some difficulty in the SW corner, which took as much time as the rest put together, in particular 25 and 27, but the rest was pretty plain sailing.

COD? Amongst many nice clues, 14d – ’21 spotted taking credit for coverage of exposure (9)’.

To the warmer days of June 2011, today:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2011/06/21/independent-7700radian/

5 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1542 Radian”

  1. Cornick said

    27a one of my first in (it’s a word my mother uses a lot) but I couldn’t unravel 25a at all so went to Chambers word wizard,, aka cheating.
    Good crossword that. Thought 24d was interesting – a bit like Punk’s double anagram last week.

  2. sprouthater said

    I found this quite tough. Bad start with 1ac, none of the words I’d use to describe Murdoch could be used in polite society. Agree with your COD. I also thought 6d worth a mention.

  3. AndyT said

    Slow start, picking up speed once the theme became apparent. I agree with Cornick about 24d: curious, and rather spiffing.

  4. dtw42 said

    I also found this difficult in places, and finished with a look-up cheat on 25.

  5. Lozzie said

    Struggled in SW corner, esp difficult 25A – I can’t imagine many people solved that clue easily, I would never have thought of old people = Iceni (spent a long time trying to fix OAPS into the word!). Liked 13A.

Comments are closed.

