i Cryptic Crossword 1541 Quixote

January 18, 2016

Enjoyable and fair, as always from the Don on a Monday. On the easier side for him I thought.

COD? 16d, which was also my last in – ‘Bean soup – a legal order requires it to be changed (8)’.

Back to the cold days of February 2011:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2011/02/27/independent-on-sunday-1097-by-quixote/

3 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1541 Quixote”

  1. Cornick said

    Your COD was a rare example of definition being neither at one end nor the other of the clue.

  2. AndyT said

    Not being much of a one for legal archaisms, 8d didn’t please me overmuch. Otherwise all jolly good and scrupulously fair, of course. 3d was much more my thing, pitched as it was at the Beano reader’s level. 🙂

  3. Lozzie said

    A very fair crossword as regards the clueing, although I must own up to being stumped by 8D, a legal term which was new to me – couldn’t think of a symonym for “change” that would fit in when curtailed – indeed, could not come up with a single word which would fit the combination of checked letters!

Comments are closed.

