i Cryptic Crossword 1539 Monk

January 15, 2016

Another tough one I thought with some obscure answers  which I needed help from google to solve  especially 20a and 21d along with the oddities of 3a and 1d made this even more challenging. I don’t like 2d at all, doesn’t work for me on any level and 16d I find dubious. For the most part though I found it a fair and in places amusing puzzle.

COD 10a     Dark blemish found on a shiny tanner? (7)

The original blog from April 2011 is here

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2011/04/07/independent-7636-by-monk/

 

 

4 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1539 Monk”

  1. jonofwales said

    A good puzzle, but one for me where the answers were often more apparent than the accompanying cryptic. Last in 20 and 26. I was unconvinced by GIT for FOOL, surely not?

  2. AndyT said

    I do my best to be positive, so the less said the better today. Any number of quibbles, very little enjoyment, and what some of those words are doing in a daily puzzle is quite beyond me. My sympathies, Sprouthater – you really drew the short straw today.

  3. Cornick said

    Although quite hard, yes, I also found this rather gripping, somehow, and satisfying to solve. I had to just guess 16d, used the encyclopedia for 20a but otherwise could get ’em all from the wordplay. Agree as to the COD – one of the best ‘straight cryptics’ I’ve encountered.

  4. Lozzie said

    Didn’t find it that difficult apart from 3D / 20A which were new to me but guessed correctly.
    10A a good “face-palmer”!

Comments are closed.

