i Cryptic Crossword 1535 Quixote

January 11, 2016

The Don with his usual entertaining, gentle start to the week, even if by this point in 2011 he was back in the Indy proper rather than the Sunday paper.

COD? Lots to like, in particular 24ac, but my nomination goes to 17ac – ‘A shining light? British prophet has to be a fraud! (7,6)’.

All the answers, and analysis of the clues, can be found here:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2011/04/04/independent-7633-by-quixote/

4 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1535 Quixote”

  1. sprouthater said

    Yes a nice start to the week, I got held up on 2d trying to fit TU in but that was soon sorted though. My Bristolian friend disagreed with 17d says it’s not Bristle but Brizzle which is obviously completely different!:-)

  2. AndyT said

    Yes, a jolly puzzle to start us off. 10ac struck me as rather neat too.

  3. Lozzie said

    Quite a bit was a straightforward write-in, felt that there were not many truly guileful clues. I also have my doubts about the local pronunciation of Bristol. 17A my COD too.

  4. Cornick said

    Derek Robinson’s seminal work on the subject of the day is titled ‘Krek Waiter’s Peak Bristle’ – and I loved it as a child growing up in nearby Portishead. However ‘Brizzle’ might well exist in some of the darker streets frequented by Gas-heads (Rovers fans).
    Quixote on top form today, wasn’t he. Perfect for a Monday.

Comments are closed.

