i Prize Cryptic Crossword 1528 by Phi (not Quixote as stated)

January 9, 2016

Saturday 2nd January 2016

In his first autobiography ‘A Time of Gifts’ Patrick Leigh Fermor lists the poems he knows off by heart – which is a wonderful thing really if you’re striding out across the plains of Germany in 1933 and wish to amuse yourself without the joys of an iPod. It’s a long list (including a lot in Latin) and this is just a bit of it: …’most of Keats’s Odes, the usual pieces of Tennyson, Browning and Coleridge’… you get the idea. However, even he then goes on to say ‘of Pound or Eliot, not a word, either learnt or read’.

So I don’t feel too bad about not having known Eliot’s ‘The Journey of the Magi’, of which the first 17 words appeared in the lights of last week’s crossword. Once I had the helpfully given J, N and Y in the last word, I just went to my Oxford Dictionary of Quotations, looked up ‘Journey’ and there it was.

Is it fair for a setter to assume we know these things? Does it spoil the solve if we don’t?  What is and isn’t general knowledge and for whom?  Vexed questions indeed.

Here’s that clue again:

12/28/4/1A/22 Lines showing the impact of wintry weather – Kings Cross? (1,4,4,2,3,2,2.4.3.5.4.2,3,4,3,1,7)

And the answer – along with all the others – is at the Fifteensquared site here.

 

10 Responses to “i Prize Cryptic Crossword 1528 by Phi (not Quixote as stated)”

  1. jonofwales said

    Did I know the quote? No. Did I Google it? Yes… Not fond of this kind of thing, but in this day and age it’s easily findable. Can’t remember much about the rest!

  2. AndyT said

    Quite embarrassed not to know the quote, actually. I thought Phi made a good job of shoehorning it into the grid, and the “definition” was a good ‘un. 9ac was a teensy bit obscure, but easily deduced. Bound to come in handy one day.

    What did annoy me was Mrs Fitzgerald, the only one of those I can reasonably be expected to know about being Ella. All right – I did know of her, but irredeemably minor American novelists chiefly known for being married to their male counterparts … really? My apologies to those who believe F Scott to have been a shining light in the literary firmament – not an opinion I share. 😉

  3. sprouthater said

    It was a good puzzle spoilt for me. A lot of it was very good but…

  4. Lozzie said

    Thankfully, my OH knew the central quote so I just had a few to finish off later in the day. Unusual to have this length of answer away from the usual Xmas ones (carols etc). Had to look up 9A which was new to me. I knew 8D ZIEGFELD of “follies” fame, being a fan of those (in fact, terrible) early musicals, otherwise I doubt that I would have worked it out from the over-complicated clue!

    • Cornick said

      Just asked my old dad, who came out with the whole thing just like that!
      Well at least I know this one:
      ‘Dishonour not your fathers now attest
      That those whom you call fathers did beget ye’

  5. Lozzie said

    I think it’s mothers then fathers.
    Or in todayspeak:
    “Don’t dis dad, dude”

  6. Found this one today rather belatedly in a pile of old papers. It was the quote that started me off. I did know the poem from a long time ago, and even if I hadn’t I would have been glad to be introduced to it, it’s very beautiful.

    • Cornick said

      Hi Olivia, and good to have at least one cultured contributor to this blog. Do feel free to join in with out mostly inane banter, carping and boasting whenever you wish. 🙂

Comments are closed.

