i Cryptic Crossword 1532 Tyrus

January 7, 2016

Well, I guess that was the stinker we’ve been anticipating for a long time. I spotted a few hints about schools, what with BASH TREAT and TOO COOL FOR SCHOOL, but the overall picture didn’t fall into place in time to stop me failing on 4ac/d. Fifteensquared has all the details of yet another theme I failed to spot. If I’d been inclined to leave it a couple of hours, I’m guessing that the proverbial penny might have dropped, but as it was I didn’t. Progress elsewhere was slow, though I never got really stuck. 15ac was rather obscure, wasn’t it?

Thanks, Tyrus, for an entertaining challenge, even if you did beat me this time!

COD? 9ac – ‘3 retreat again in panic – aim for here! (6,4)’.

Back to April 2011:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2011/04/23/independent-7644-by-tyrus/

8 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1532 Tyrus”

  1. AndyT said

    Bit of a lip-curler this one, I’m afraid. Terribly clever no doubt, but not especially witty or elegant … had I spotted the nina perhaps I’d have felt differently, but it was like pulling teeth start to finish. 15ac prompted an annoyed snort, whilst 9ac did stand out for me too, on account of being too clever by half. Much happier with the Scorpion variety of stinker, frankly. 🙂

  2. sprouthater said

    Found this a bit heavy too, missed the nina and don’t know how I got 12/19 other than fitting with the checked letters.Thought 9ac was the pick of a testing bunch but 25ac pretty good too.

  3. Cornick said

    The stinker we’d been waiting for indeed.
    I got the Nina with E A T E _ and GRAIN- _ _ _ _ , which really helped a lot thereafter, though not with 7d where I wrongly guessed ‘Beagle’ as an unparsed training ship of some kind.
    Slow work for me this; occasionally satisfying, as with the COD, but overall I’m not entirely sure it was worth the considerable effort.

  4. Lozzie said

    A mix of straightforward and impossible for me! Also didn’t spot the nina, despite spotting GRAIN + JILL. Had to check the original blog carefully to understand 15A GOER and 7D MEAGRE fully.
    Feel free to have a stab at this clue I came up with last night: links today’s theme with the topical blog debate from the last few days – should be easy enough in view of this!

    Blast it! We’ve let ’em off this scholastic recital (6,5,5)

  5. dtw42 said

    I’ll weigh in alongside AndyT and Sprouthater here. Made very slow progress, and the last four or five were put in without (either me or my GF) properly understanding how they worked, just from the defs and the fact that the checked letters agreed with each other (12/19, 3, 6, 7, 15…). Didn’t see the Nina; didn’t enjoy the effort much. Hey ho.

    Nice clue, Lozzie.

Comments are closed.

