i Cryptic Crossword 1530 Scorpion

January 5, 2016

At first glance today’s puzzle looked a little off-putting, with the many interlinked clues. As it turned out, though, it was quite accessible, once you’d got the hang of what was afoot. In common with many solvers back in the day I twigged what was going on after solving 16/3, and from that point it was just a matter of trying to not get lost amongst all the cross references. Last in 23ac, which I guessed wrongly…

COD? 14/25 – ‘It’s dead in London East 17, living with nan? (5,5)’.

Back to April 2011:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2011/04/12/independent-7640-scorpion-never-a-dull-moment/

12 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1530 Scorpion”

  1. Cornick said

    As it happens my way in to 17 was via Oldhan Athletic and Agnes Grey – that’s crosswords for you!

    On a quite different note, I’m forced to conclude that the letters editor at the i sets the bar rather low, given that I’ve only ever sent them two and both have been published. See p14 for my somewhat dull contribution to what is doubtless the most important topic of our age.

    • jonofwales said

      Two in a row, well done! Regarding times tables, I worked out back in the 70’s that if I’d learnt 2-10, there was no need to do 11 and 12, and just winged it. 🙂

  2. dtw42 said

    Needed help from my girlfriend to solve 17 before I could get started properly (even though I’d already solved 4/24), but did okay thereafter.
    Didn’t understand/like the wordplay in 11 (‘pants’ as an anagrind, really??), and my LOI was 18.

  3. AndyT said

    Enjoyed this one immensely, once I’d got a toehold in the SE corner. Last in was 23, on account of my unforgiveable ignorance of erythropoietin. Bravo to Scorpion for another thoroughly entertaining puzzle, and to Cornick for getting published again.

  4. sprouthater said

    After feeling smug about not having to go to work yesterday. Today I was dragooned by my wife into helping re-arrange her employers furniture(he is a peer of the realm and judging by the weight of it doesn’t buy his furniture at DFS. So it was not until this evening that I started this puzzle and after the first reading was dubious that I would finish it but I did persevere and have just finished it and now feel quite smug again.

  5. Lozzie said

    This became easier than might otherwise have been the case as I found 17A quite early on. Agree with your COD, liked 21A also, another enjoyable puzzle.

    RE: your letter. I can recall the misery of pre-decimal LSD maths, for which of course 12x was essential, but this remains the case surely for feet & inches which are still widely used in the English speaking world. (When selling on Ebay, I always give sizes in cm, but often have people messaging me to give them the sizes in inches! Other auction sites are available.)
    We were taught also the 13x table in my primary school!

    • Cornick said

      Ah, yes…I expect someone will take me to task for that in tomorrow’s paper!
      But personally, although I use feet and inches all the time, I don’t think I have ever actually needed my 12x tables (which I do know) to do so.

  6. dtw42 said

    On the subject of low bars at the i, is anybody else as frustrated as I am by the standards of proof-reading in evidence in their Facebook posts?

    • jonofwales said

      I don’t follow their FB page, but given the number of errors that creep into the print edition, I’m not suprised. 😉

  7. allan_c said

    Interesting. Apart from TWEET-TWEET, my first one in, I stalled on this until I spotted 30/28 AGNES GREY and the related 31 EARL – but that was because ‘silver’ was spelt out in the clue whereas Scorpion could easily have referenced 9 instead (though I suppose I would have got there eventually if he had).

    Apart from the answer needing to be only six letters my first thought for 22dn was CHARLTON with the ‘experienced player’ being the eponymous Bobby – not that he (or his brother) ever played for them.

Comments are closed.

