i Cryptic Crossword 1529 Quixote

January 4, 2016

A fairly easy going puzzle, with the exception of my COD, which took an age to get. About right for those of us not quite used to the idea that we have to work today.

And that COD? 22ac – ‘Hindu symbol? It could be glam! (6)’.

Back to January 2011:

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2011/01/23/independent-on-sunday-1092-by-quixote/

8 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1529 Quixote”

  1. AndyT said

    Yes, that one jumped out at me too. Quite a contrast to the misattributed “Quixote” on Saturday, wasn’t it?

  2. Cornick said

    I liked this very well, but I did get hung up on the typographer’s odd space between ‘be’ and ‘glam’ which, along with the exclamation mark, I mistakenly took to be significant.

  3. Lozzie said

    Enjoyable puzzle for me, delayed in the NW corner by my OH’s insistence that 1A was LOOE (could have been!). Managed to work this out, agree about 22A and liked 3D also (eventually).

  4. dtw42 said

    Ha, I initially had LOOE for 1ac too, and was bothered by a number of strange line breaks in the clues. I liked 22ac (was quite pleased to have known the word,TBH) 😉

  5. allan_c said

    BENEDICT ARNOLD and LINGAM only came from crossing letters and I had to google to confirm their correctness. Which only left 24ac for which all I could think of was STEW (‘wets’ reversed) with there being some hint of the leak/leek homophone, leeks being a common if not essential ingredient of stews. Cue for a circa 1970s gag from The Perishers strip in the Mirror: “I’m feeling very Welsh today because of a leak in my wellingtons!”

Comments are closed.

