i Prize Cryptic Crossword 1522 by Quixote

January 2, 2016

Saturday 26th December 2015

One of the advantages of having teenage boys is that you can buy yourself the Chambers Crossword Dictionary and give it to them to wrap up as your Christmas present.  It makes a splendid addition to my reference shelf – gazillions of times better than a regular thesaurus if you need to finish off a pesky last clue (for which purpose its probably intended) but it really comes into its own if your bag is making up crosswords for the local WI group, or a website frequented by about three people… I love it.

Talking of websites, I’m suposed to be reviewing Quixote’s Boxing day offering.  Ah…Let’s see… Seems ages ago… Rather more unsmiley faces than ticks, unfortunately – which contrasts with his midweek offering, that I rather liked.  Never mind, there was a favourite in there as well, and it’s this:

12a  They are about to change vehicles, having secured a loan (9)

Although that should of course now read ‘They have just changed…’ Happy New Year!

The original 2011 blog with answers is here.

 

 

 

16 Responses to “i Prize Cryptic Crossword 1522 by Quixote”

  1. AndyT said

    I only dimly remember this one, now recycled, and being remarkably slow to get 2d. A pretty fair crossword no doubt, because that’s how I always feel about Quixote. The Chambers Crossword Dictionary sounds very useful for those of us who subject ourselves to barred puzzles.

  2. sprouthater said

    I thought that 12ac was the best of a pretty mundane puzzle,quite liked 9ac too. I’ve been given many books over the years, some like The New York Times Crossword Puzzle D.ictionary sit on the shelf gathering dust while others like Crossword Lists by Anne Stibbs Kerr are in constant use especially when the names of artists,film stars or philosophers are required

    • Cornick said

      Stibbs Kerr might have to wait until m’ birthday… 164(ish) philosophers in Chambers Crossword Dictionary; is that good?

  3. jonofwales said

    I have a copy of Chambers I bought when I was keen on doing Azed, but the attraction of ploughing through obscure words quickly wore thin. It’s worth the price alone, though, for some of the definitions. Mullet – ‘a hairstyle that is short at the front, long at the back, and ridiculous all round’.

  4. jonofwales said

    PS. This week’s might claim that it’s by Quixote, but it’s actually Phi. 🙂

    • Lozzie said

      Yes, I discovered this after initially searching in vain for the old blog entry to check one of my answers (9A).

      I am selling off my dozens of reference books on Ebay as I am trying to downsize, hardly use any of them nowadays as I find the Onelook reverse dictionary almost always supplies answers when I get stuck!

  5. AndyT said

    I feel like a rank amateur now, since my only reference book other than conventional dictionaries is the Newnes Crossword Dictionary, complete with a couple of decades’ worth of additions and annotations in my own fair hand. It’s falling apart now, so I’m vaguely on the lookout for an upgrade … either that or I’ll have to take up bookbinding.

  6. Where can I get a copy of the crossword from? The independent online only has non saturday days. Thanks

    • jonofwales said

      Hi. The i crossword isn’t available online. The Independent crosswords are available from their site. I think the Saturday ones are published a week behind?

      • Cornick said

        Also I think the Independent ones (unlike the Guardian ) can’t be downloaded to do on paper, worst luck.

    • AndyT said

      Don’t tell anyone, but I photocopied mine at the library this morning.

      • jonofwales said

        * Shocked face *

      • Good thinking Andy T. How long do libraries keep copies of papers? Might do that Tuesday.

      • AndyT said

        My wife, a librarian, says that it’s in direct proportion to the amount of space available to store them. If it’s a tiny little branch like our local one they’ll probably get rid after a week, but a major library will squirrel them away indefinitely.

  7. dtw42 said

    Cornick: I occasionally download the Indy crosswords to the printer, so it’s definitely possible. Though, oddly, the date on them regresses by exactly a century when one hits the button to create a printable version, so one’s left filling in a grid that claims to have been published in January 1916. 😛
    Nice to know the millennium bug is still lurking about all these years later…

Comments are closed.

