i Cryptic Crossword 1526 Quixote

December 31, 2015

The scullery. Enter Charmaine, carrying a mop.

Oh, woe is me, boys and girls! So much to do! Cleaning, sweeping, polishing, ironing, mending, scrubbing … I’ll tell you what: when I applied to be Mr Batarde’s maid of all work, I didn’t think it was meant literally. But here I am, all alone, with just a mangy old cat for company on New Year’s Eve. And I so wanted to go the ball, but I’ve nothing to wear – look at me: a thing of rags and tatters! Alas!

All right then, it’s not really like that, (although the cat is a bit moth eaten). Messrs B and O are off partying somewhere or other leaving me with the run of the place. Feet up, box of truffles within easy reach: one contented Charmaine. I spent the blog fee on a great big tandoori chicken pizza with extra cheese, and a boxed set of Werner Herzog films. Balls are over-rated if you ask me, so any fairy godmothers can just push off elsewhere: I’m stopping in with Klaus Kinski.

Suppose I’d better get this crossword thing out of the way, though. Quite a gentle end to the year, and not the stinker Mr B led me to expect. Oodles of anagrams today, including a couple of very apt ones: 2d and 24ac.  Be honest: how many of you got 15d wrong, eh?  7d was clever too, but my Awesome Clue of the Day is 1ac:

“Devices to produce races at the speed of sound (12)”

The Fifteensquared blog from January 2011 provides all the answers, and there’s a little discussion towards the end of the comments about the original team of Independent setters which will interest old timers – way before my time, obviously.

All that remains before Aguirre, the Wrath of God is to wish everybody a very Happy New Year.  🙂

Byeeee!

One Response to “i Cryptic Crossword 1526 Quixote”

  1. jonofwales said

    Aguirre – Kinski and Herzog at their best, excellent New Year’s viewing! Nothing too taxing today, thankfully, as the celebrations here started with a birthday meal at midday and haven’t ceased since. Now, where’s that drink?

Comments are closed.

