i Cryptic Crossword 1525 Dac

December 30, 2015

Hallo again. I can’t get quite so enthusiastic about todays offering as they did on the other side but that’s probably because I don’t like football and don’t speak French, The cats tongue, really. 2dn was a write in for me but then I am old enough to remember the black and white television show and I really don’t think a Cockney would say playing like that.

Apart from those quibbles I though the rest was pretty good stuff especially liked

18ac   Ruse to save two pennies and spend one?  (6)

Back to January 5th 2011  here

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2011/01/05/independent-7557dac/

 

 

3 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1525 Dac”

  1. jonofwales said

    I was pleased to get the French answer correct, even if it did take all the checking letters to do so. 2d I dragged up from the depths of my memory, though I’ve never seen the TV series or films. Suspect they used to fill BBC 2 schedules back in the day. Lots of nice clues, my favourite was 12d.

  2. AndyT said

    Looked 11ac up in the dictionary, and it said “miaow”. It took ages for the light to dawn about 2d: not something I’ve ever seen or read, but familiar nonetheless. Butch’s law abiding brother, presumably. A nice puzzle all told, and 12d was my favourite too.

  3. Lozzie said

    A good puzzle with some inward-laughing going on here. Liked 15D LOW-LOADER clue although a write-in answer.
    I can remember Hopalong Cassidy appearing in the Saturday morning cinema I mentioned yesterday, more memorable as it was a nickname for one of my teachers !
    LANGUE DE CHAT: simple little French biscuits that don’t really hack it, try dunking one in your tea, it will dissolve before reaching your mouth!
    18A: WIDDLE – I thought we were in the realms of the Carry On films here (Private Jimmy Widdle, Up the Khyber), but it is apparently acceptable English, albeit doubtful IMO.
    BTW: 8D: Peter Crouch still a squad member at Stoke, although unfortunately he doesn’t get much of a look-in these days.

Comments are closed.

