i Prize Cryptic Crossword 1517 by Phi

December 26, 2015

Saturday 19th December 2015

Having been at a reunion all day last Saturday I completely failed to obtain a newspaper until, at 3am in the Exeter service station, I illegally excised the corner of page 52 from a returns bundle under the very noses of what looked like a police convention.  Is that where our taxes go, I wonder?

Anyhow this was pretty much the enjoyable, standard fare we’ve come to expect from Phi on a Saturday – a bit of astronomy and classical music, a neologism or two and some nice clues, of course. My last one in was 16d ‘kettling’, which was quite topical back in 2011 but has subsequently been abandoned as a police practice, what with all the service station crime to monitor, presumably.

COD: 4d  A new sport is ignored by a broadcaster (7)

For the Fifteensquared blog with all the answers click here.

5 Responses to “i Prize Cryptic Crossword 1517 by Phi”

  1. Lozzie said

    This one sticks in my mind for 1D FACEPALM which is a new (and irritating) one on me, and which apparently does not need a hyphen as I would have presumed. Quite a ready solve as I remember, a sprinkling of scientific and geographical items which came to me quickly.

  2. AndyT said

    Kettling caused me some head scratching too: maybe someone discovered the rather unfortunate historical resonance and decided it wasn’t such a good word to use after all. 1d got a laugh when the penny finally dropped.

    Will you be blogging the jumbo next week, Cornick? I read the first few clues and decided it was infra dignitatem, but no doubt I’ll change my mind once the festive boredom really takes hold.

    • Cornick said

      Verily it is written that jumbo general knowledgers shall be solved as a group effort, round at the in-laws.
      I may well refer to it next weekend, but with the solutions being given on page 55 today, I reckon it’s really just a bit of fun, as opposed the affairs of state which are the clues given over the page by (this week) the seemingly immortal Don.

      • AndyT said

        The immortal Don didn’t last long, and had to be topped up with a Mephisto, which did. I fear that, if anything, the in-laws are even less likely to know about boy bands, recent Swedish Eurovision winners and Cuban long jumpers than we are.

      • jonofwales said

        Ah yes, I wondered if you’d approve of the Don getting the prize Saturday slot. 😉

Comments are closed.

