i Cryptic Crossword 1521 Quixote

December 24, 2015

An unexpected return of Don Quixote for a Christmas themed puzzle, and if your idea of a perfect crossword is lots of easy clues, half the answers being anagrams and a smattering of obscurities (seneschal, elemi, sans doute, exegesis, oread), then this will have been right up your street.  As for me, well I might just pop out for the Grauniad now and see if they’ve got a Christmas special to get my teeth into!

COD   10a    Number classically involved in excesses (6)

Back to 2010 for the original blog with all the answers here.

And a very happy Christmas to all who blog, comment or simply read on idothei. 🙂

 

5 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1521 Quixote”

  1. dtw42 said

    Happy Christmas 🙂

  2. sprouthater said

    I hope you find something more challenging than this in the Guardian, you won’t in the Indy, thats a Quixote today too. I like anagrams and enjoyed these but overall I found this a bit lacking.
    Happy Christmas 🙂

  3. AndyT said

    My thoughts exactly; having just glanced at the Guardian’s puzzle for the day I’m not sure you’ll find what you seek there either. 10ac was rather nice though.

    Merry Christmas to all. 🙂

  4. jonofwales said

    Merry Christmas all!

    This was just what I needed today, what with trips to the supermarket, doctors, last minute wrapping and veg to prepare. Holiday, what holiday. 😉

  5. Lozzie said

    I tend to find that Xmastime xwords in newspapers are somewhat lacking, you generally have to look to the “better” papers” for a more challenging puzzle!

Comments are closed.

