i Cryptic Crossword 1518 Crosophile

December 21, 2015

Christmas time again, by golly, and the idothei schedule is a little different over the next fortnight. Of course I expected to get a Quixote today, his departure from the Monday slot having been prematurely announced a couple of times now, but no – he really has passed on the baton, or so it seems. Is that a respectful nod at bottom right, though?

Today’s puzzle was set by Crosophile, a compiler about whom I’ve been a little lukewarm: happily this time I have no reservations and give this one an unequivocal thumbs up. Plenty of sly, witty clues to keep us amused: 11, 17, 21 and 19d all raised smiles for instance, and the overall quality was pleasing. There was some discussion on the other blog about 20, a tricky little number which was my last one in. Clue of the day was also really rather devious (and includes a variant spelling which I’m perfectly happy to overlook under the circumstances):

8d: “Dry and more solid around waterfall? (9)”

The puzzle came from the Independent on Sunday in May 2011, and it’s worth a look at the comments after the Fifteensquared entry for an engagingly self-deprecating note on 23 from Crosophile himself.

9 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1518 Crosophile”

  1. dtw42 said

    I won’t click the link yet, since at the moment I have the whole grid finished EXCEPT 8dn (there’s a word I can see fits the spaces but I don’t understand how it’d fit the clue) and 20ac (no idea). 🙂

  2. sprouthater said

    I don’t really see that the answer to 8d fits the clue but checking the dictionary for the waterfall synonym it can’t be anything else. Also had to check 20ac its archaic but it is in. A very good start to the week methinks.

  3. dtw42 said

    Right. Lin. A variant spelling, not in the OED, of a word that’s not been in use for over 120 years. Should have known that. O.o

    Pffff.

  4. Lozzie said

    I’m OK with 8D, but definite unhappiness here with 20A for reasons voiced elsewhere!

  5. AndyT said

    Well, I was inclined to be generous about that “lin” in 8d because it’s an easy one to guess, provided you know the word in the usual form – a fine example of something more often found in crosswords than in real life. Like nitre, or an etui. It is in the OED, in teeny print with an “obs. variant”, making it quite naughty, admittedly. The definition was a beauty though, even if it made me think of John Redwood.

  6. jonofwales said

    Yes, 8d and 20ac. I got both, but the wordplay remained a mystery until I checked here. The former was forgiveable, as we all learnt something new. The latter less so.

  7. Cornick said

    I fall into the liked 20ac camp, but lin for waterfall didn’t do it for me. I didn’t like san for hospital when I first met it either, so doubtless we’ll see lin again…
    Definition for 8d was nice though and overall it was a good crossword with plenty to like, it’ll be interesting to see if Crosophile becomes the new Monday regular.

  8. dtw42 said

    On a separate topic – starting the blog with “Christmas time again, by golly” … is that a Tom Lehrer reference?

Comments are closed.

