i Cryptic Crossword 1516 Morph

December 18, 2015

I know we buy a newspaper with a recycled crossword but a note telling us when it was first published would have helped a little here. I suppose the reference to a big occasion in 1ac and groom in two clues along with all the allusions to royalty throughout should have pushed me in right direction, but, as I have absolutely no interest in any of the above and probably spent the day in a cupboard avoiding any exposure to it, I missed the theme completely and only after reading the original blog was all made clear.Nevertheless the majority of the puzzle was very good with enough straightforward clues to give checking letters for the ones relating to “the big occasion”. The only real obscurity for me was 7d but I think I’ve seen it before relating to one A Hitler. 11ac and 19ac both struck me as very clever and 28ac with all its connotations was very amusing. However the COD today is

17d  Broken down, it’s solvers – you and me, ultimately  (9)

Back to that auspicious? day April 29th 2011

http://www.fifteensquared.net/2011/04/29/independent-7655-by-morph/

 

4 Responses to “i Cryptic Crossword 1516 Morph”

  1. AndyT said

    My goodness, the comments over at the other side are a hoot. All the Saxe-Coburg Gotha references notwithstanding I thought this was another splendid puzzle in a particularly good week. Lots of fun, and a “surely not?” moment at 7d. I’m sure you have indeed come across that one in relation to Hitler; Himmler was very similar, apparently. [Wanders off whistling, jauntily]. 🙂

  2. jonofwales said

    A good puzzle by Morph, some obscurities here and there. It does, though, seem an odd choice to republish, being so tied to that particular day.

  3. Lozzie said

    Quite enjoyed this one, despite the day-specific cluing. Surely no-one can fail to be impressed with 11A and 16A, I liked 30A also, but felt that 7D was a bit below the belt (in more ways than one)!

  4. Cornick said

    3 crackerjacks in one week – dare we hope for a fourth tomorrow?

Comments are closed.

